HomeNewsPress ReleaseCWCI Elects Board of Directors For 2010


Bob Young

For Press Release:

CWCI Elects Board of Directors For 2010

T. Hale Johnston, Senior Vice-President of Employers Compensation Insurance Company, has been re-elected Chairman of the Board of Directors of the California Workers’ Compensation Institute for 2010 at the Institute’s annual meeting in San Francisco. Robert N. Darby of Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Companies, will serve as the Institute’s Vice-Chair for 2010.

Joining Johnston and Darby as officers on the Institute’s Executive Committee are former CWCI chairmen Joseph M. Treacy of The Hartford Insurance Group; Roger L. Moseley of Alaska National Insurance Company; and David P. Mitchell of Republic Indemnity Company of America; as well as William Mudge of CompWest Insurance Company; and Douglas V. Stewart of State Compensation Insurance Fund.

Also elected to CWCI’s 2010 Board of Directors were Robert G. Purdy, ACE USA; Dennis C. Alumbaugh, Chartis Insurance; Matthew L. Sather, CNA; Jeffrey Tipton, Liberty Mutual Group; Rosemary Favier, Preferred Employers Insurance Company; Joseph A. Ney, Springfield Insurance Company; Dr. Bernyce Peplowski,, Zenith Insurance Company; and Paul Ziegler, Zurich North America.

The Institute, established in 1964, is a private, nonprofit association working to improve California workers’ compensation through research, information, education and representation. CWCI members include 28 insurer groups (composed of nearly 200 underwriting companies that write and service 87 percent of California statewide workers’ compensation premium, as well as 25 of the largest public and private self-insured employers in the state.